National Council of Space Grant Directors Meeting Wichita, KS October 2003

Friday, October 24, 2003

Opening - Bill Hiscock (Montana) called the meeting to order at 8:40 AM

Welcome from Host - Dave Downing (Kansas) welcomed the participants.

Council Business - Bill Hiscock (Montana) Introduced the following people that are new to the Space Grant family: Jack Higginbotham (Oregon) - Director, Neal Brown (Alaska) - Director, , Philippe Geubelle (Illinois) - Director, Karen Plout (Vermont) - Associate Director, Michelle Larson (Montana) - Deputy Director, Monica Bowers (Indiana) - Program Coordinator

Treasurer's Report – Peter Sukanek (Mississippi) presented the Council budget.

Minutes From March 2003 Meeting – Dave Downing (Kansas) presented the minutes from the National Directors Meeting in Washington, DC in March 2003.

Update from NASA Headquarters – Diane DeTroye (Acting Manager – Space Grant & EPSCOR – NASA HQ), Katie Pruzan. (NASA HQ), and Magui Cardona (NASA HQ) presented an update from NASA HQ.

International Space University – Peggy Finarelli (Vice President for North American Operations International Space University) presented an overview of the ISU. They are asking for SG to help recruit students for the program. Briefing on http://www.isunet.edu/ She will provide a short email to Bill Hiscock that SG can send out to advertise the program.

NASA Academy – Dave Rosage (NASA GSFC) reported on the 2003 NASA Academy experience.

The Sky Calls Program - George Lebo and Tony Phillips presented information about a new subscription program that calls people on the phone notifying them of upcoming astronomy events. It also distributes some educational materials in support of the events.

Revolutionary Vehicles Student Competition – Two students discussed their experiences participating in this program.

Astronomy & Space Science for Mall Walkers – Dennis Schatz (Vice President Pacific Science Center) presented on "The Space Spot" a program that builds science exhibits for use the malls.

Working with KCS – Fred Buckingham (University Affairs Officer NASA KSC), Pam (Education Director NASA KSC), and Mike Freeman (NASA KSC) presented information on how SGs can work more closely with KSC.

DoD and NASA – Perry Ballard (Chief Engineer Department of Defense Payloads Office) presented on the Space Test Program which takes unproven space technologies and puts them in space to qualify them for future flights. The Space Grant Student Satellite Program committee is working with Perry to develop opportunities to launch SG CubeSats through this program.

NASA's New Education Strategy – Dr. Clifford Houston (Deputy Associate Administrator for Education Programs NASA HQ) presented the structure of the enterprise and highlighted the four new programs (Educator Astronaut Program, Explorer Schools, Science and Technology Scholarship Program, and Explorer Institutes).

Fall 2004 Meeting Plans – Mike Wiskerchen (California) presented on plans for the Fall 2004 meeting in Pasadena, CA. The meeting is jointly conducted at JPL and Dryden and will focus on the development of human capital partnerships with NASA.

Starting Student Space Hardware Programs II – Chris Koehler (Colorado) presented a report on the Boulder, CO workshop for the developing student space hardware programs.

Future Fall Meeting Plans – Bill Hiscock (Montana) presided over a discussion that determined that the National Space Grant Director's Fall Meeting will be held at the following locations: 04 California, 05 Florida, 06 New York, and 07 Iowa.

BOD Elections – Brent Bowen (Nebraska) oversaw elections for both the Foundation and the Alliance Boards. Dick Henry (Maryland) and Bill Byrd (Iowa) were elected to the Foundation Board. Majid Jaraiedi (West Virginia), Shan de Silva (North Dakota), Dick Henry (Maryland), and Luke Flynn (Hawaii) were elected to the Alliance Board.

National Space Grant Foundation Report – Bill Byrd (Iowa) presented an update on the Foundation.

The Council meeting was adjourned for the day at 5 PM

Saturday, October 25, 2003

The Council meeting was reconvened by Bill Hiscock at 8:36 AM

Reviewer Training – Diane DeTroye (NASA HQ), Barry Nagle (National Peer Review Services), Katie Pruzan (NASA HQ), and Magui Cardona (NASA HQ) conducted reviewer training for the 15th Year Review Program Performance and Results Report.

Other Business – Bill Hiscock (Montana) directed all Working Group chairs to send a report to the entire directors list concerning their breakout session.

Meeting Adjourn at 11:57 AM.

List of Attendees

James Aber (Emporia Sate U), Andrew Arena (OK), Erian Armanios (GA), DeWayne Backhus (Emporia Sate U), Jorge Ballester (Emporia Sate U), David Bartlett (NH), Monica Bauer (IN), Matthew Becker (Emporia Sate U), Richard Berendzen (DC), Pamela Biegert (KSC), Suezette Bieri (ND), Brent Bowen (NE), Sharon Brandt (WI), Peggy Brecheisen (Parsons Middle School), Christopher Brown (NC), Lisa Brown (PA), Neal Brown (AK), Bonnie Bryant (MI), Myla Bryant (OK), Gregg Buckingham (KSC), William Byrd (IA), Barrett Caldwell (IN), Louis Caplan (KS), Margarita Cardona (NASA HQ), April Christenson (ID), Kathryn Clark (TIVY), Mitchell Colgan (SC), Laura Dalles (WY), Kevin Dalsted (SD), Shanaka de Silva (ND), Kenneth De Witt (OH), Janice DeCosmo (WA), Diane DeTroye (NASA HQ), David Downing (KS), Michael Drake (Lunar and Planetary Laboratory), Samuel Durrance (FL), Thomas Filburn (CT), Fathi Finaish (MO), Mary Fink (NASA), Mark Fischer (TX), Luke Flynn (HI), Wallace Fowler (TX), Michael Freeman (NASA KSC), George French (Space Explorers), Carmen Fuchs (IA), Alec Gallimore (MI), Antoinette Galvin (NH), John Gardner (Desert Research Institute), William Garrard (MN), Philippe Geubelle (IL), John Gregory (AL), Karen Hackney (KY), Richard Hackney (KY), Jana Hall (ME), Jerome Hanson (KS), Rex Hargis (KS), Penny Haskins (FL), Stephen Haug (MO), Sue Hawkins (AR), Richard Henry (MD), Jack Higginbotham (OR), Becky Highfill (ID), William Hiscock (MT), Jeff Hoffman (MA), David Hoover (U of Vermont), Keith Hudson (AR), Elizabeth Humbert (Cornell), Patricia Hynes (NM), Bill James (OK), Majid Jaraiedi (WV), Diane Jeffers (IL), Karen Johnson (LA), Michael Keck (Emporia Sate U), Megan Kemble (DC), Clarice Koby (MT), Chris Koehler (CO), Clara Kustra (NH), Michelle Larson (MT), Peter Lawrie (New Detroit Science Center), Rebecca Lees (AK), James Lookadoo (KS), Sreela Mallick (FL), Dorcas Metcalf (RI), Marsha Metcalf (RI), Charles Miller (Dryden), Susan Miller (Dryden), Gerardo Morell (U of Puerto Rico), Jaydeep Mukherjee (FL), Barry Nagle (NASA PRS), Robert Nelson (NASA SBIR), Norman Ness (DE), Michael Newton (Emporia Sate U), Jocelyn Nickerson (NE), Douglas O'Handley (Ames), Wayne Olm (WI), Adeboyejo Oni (Owen Software), Raju Patel (MA), Dieudonne Phanord (NV), Phelan Pierce (RI), Wanda Pierson (GA), Karen Plaut (VT), Erica Plaza (Space Explorers), Katherine Pruzan (NASA HO), Randi Ouanbeck-Lundell (MN), Lorna Ramiscal (HI), Candy Ramsey (WV), Jacqueline Reasoner (U of Alabama Huntsville), Helen Reed (AZ), Jim Roach (Emporia Sate U), Linda Rodgers (JPL), David Rosage (Goddard), Ellie Rosenbloom (TN), Lori Rountree (NV), James Rowland (GA), Stephanie Rowland (GA), Sherry Rowland Perry (DE), Chittaranjan Sahay (CT), Mary Sandy (VA), Dennis Schatz (Pacific Science Center), Peter Schultz (RI), Terry Shehata (ME), Bill Sipes (AR), Pat Sipes (AR), Victoria Snowden (OK), Vicki Speake (IA), Laura Stacko (OH), Jay Staker (IA), Susan Stewart (NASA HQ), Alvin Strauss (TN), Susan Suhler (KS), Peter Sukanek (MS), Jean Teasdale (ID), Yervant Terzian (Cornell), Siva Thangam (NJ), Lynne Tull (AR), Thelma Wallace (OK), Carrie Watts (MS), John Wefel (LA), Brad Weiner (PR), Dwayne Westenskow (UT), Larry Williamson (KS), Michael Wiskerchen (CA), Irene Xavier (CA), R. Aileen Yingst (WI), Laurel Zeno (VT), Lewis Zeno (VT), Tracy Zhang (Owen Software)